What happened? Where I’ve been and where I’m going.

Wow! Almost an entire month passed without a single post.

Life got crazy and things happened and I’m still training, but wow, does time fly by or what?!

Here are some of the crazies in dates:

April 28th: I began a new training cycle with a new coach. It’s a totally different perspective on training, very different from how I’ve coached myself in the past, but I am loving it so far! I did a lot of research on various coaches and coaching programs, and I can say I am really happy to be working with Nick out of Memphis, TN. I may not update my training each week day by day, but I’ll let you all in on what’s happening 🙂20140508-094851.jpg

April 29th: I presented my master’s thesis! SUCH A HUGE BURDEN LIFTED OFF MY CHEST! For my thesis, I studied corporate wellness programs and I presented a guide for corporations to use in implementing wellness programs for their company. I loved this topic so much, and I cannot wait to start implementing this research when I begin my new job.20140508-094831.jpg

Oh yea! We are moving! and I got a new job! Why are we moving??20140508-094738.jpg

May 2nd: Jon found out he was accepted to Memphis! He will begin his Masters in Pharmacology in July. I am so incredibly proud of him.

May 3rd: Beth, Julia and I registered for Rock’n’Roll Chicago!! WE ARE SO EXCITED. Tennessee folks headin’ north, ya”llllll. My BFF lives there, so we have an entire weekend to hang out and enjoy the city with her! Are any of you running Chicago!? This is my Chicago bestie below on the right. She and Jon literally drove 8 hours and through the night just to watch my final collegiate cross-country race. Those two amaze me. 20140508-100126.jpg

May 5th: I became aware of some really difficult news from some friends of ours. This week has been really rough, to say the least. To witness families and couples splitting apart is one of the hardest things. I, myself, come from a blended family (my parents split when I was younger), and while I can’t imagine my life without my amazing stepfather, divorce is never easy, and never will be. It is not peaceful, and it is affects everyone around you. Life goes on and the bitterness and anger will eventually subside, but the wound is fresh and I’m having a hard time, knowing the implications and the hurt involved.

May 6th: After tough news the day before, and legs being really tired from training the week prior, I had a phenomenal run after work. It was really warm, I sweated so much, and ran with the sun beating down. I was just so happy. I let go of everything for 30 minutes and just ran. Because it was supposed to be a recovery day to be ready for my hard workout the next day, I was only supposed to do 6 minutes easy pace, 12 minutes a little slower than tempo pace, and 6 minutes easy pace.  Those 24 minutes, although short, were just what I needed.20140508-094906.jpg

May 8th: Today! It’s Thursday, almost Friday, and I really cannot wait until the weekend. Nothing really on the agenda other than tying up final loose ends on my thesis paper, a farmers market visit, and taking some things to Goodwill to get ready for our move next month!

I hope you all have a great weekend!20140508-095114.jpg

 

6 thoughts on “What happened? Where I’ve been and where I’m going.

  1. welcome back! I’m not going to lie, I’ve missed you! congrats on the new job and moving is always fun! I’m debating doing the RNR in Chicago… It’s my bday weekend and I would love to do a race for it and the RNR serious just sounds awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

