Maybe you didn’t know this about me . . .

salmonsliders7
In addition to my day job, I actually write food articles and recipes + take photos for a local print magazine (gasp, I know, those still exist!). I’ve been doing that for 3 years now (has it really been that long?!), and although I’d probably consider myself somewhat experienced in that area, I guess I’ve been hesitant to share recipes on here because it seems like everyone in the universe has a food blog. I mean, c’mon, do we REALLY need more recipes for the “Best brownies ever” or “Kale chips”?

Even though most of me said, “Make MsKatieBlaze just a running blog,” I feel not sharing the foodie side of me is kind of like not sharing the full me. So, as I find more time now that grad school is (FINALLYYYY) done, I decided I might start incorporating a few food photos and recipes.   I am really intrigued by the fueling aspect of running, and I think as athletes it becomes easy to get in a rut eating the same thing every day. Maybe the recipes I share will encourage you get creative in the kitchen with your eats!salmonsliders

I’ll share a little bit of everything. Because it’s the end of the summer, I really wanted to post these salmon burger sliders. THEY.ARE.DELICIOUS! These were inspired by the Curried Salmon Burger Lettuce Wraps over at Half-Baked-Harvest. Tieghan is a pure genius in the kitchen, and I know anything I make from her blog is going to be a hit. Without further a-do . . .
salmonsliders3salmonsliders9

End-Of-Summer Salmon Burger Sliders

Yields 8 small sliders

Ingredients:

1 lb wild caught salmon, skin removed and roughly chopped

1/3 cup bread crumbs

2 tablespoons parmesan cheese

2 tablespoons thai red curry paste (found in the international section of most grocery stores)

½ tablespoon fish sauce (found in the international section of most grocery stores)

1 teaspoon fresh ginger, minced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon oil (I used coconut)

½ medium-size cucumber, thickly sliced

1 small mango, skin removed and thickly sliced

4 ounces goat cheese (log, not crumbled), thickly sliced

Crushed red pepper

Instructions:

  1. Place the chopped raw salmon in a food processor on high until it is ground.
  2. Combine salmon, bread crumbs, parmesan, thai red curry paste, fish sauce, ginger and garlic and mix well. Form into 8 small sized “slider” burgers.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add coconut oil to skillet. Add burgers, and cook until done, a few minutes per side. Set aside.
  4. Using toothpicks or small skewers, begin to stack sliders beginning with cucumber, goat cheese, burger, and finally the sliced mango. Sprinkle with crushed red pepper if preferred. Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from and heavily inspired by the Curried Salmon Burger Lettuce Wraps  at www.halfbakedharvest.com. 

salmonsliders6

6 thoughts on “Maybe you didn’t know this about me . . .

Leave a Reply

