Running, Food and Life inspiration from our trip out west::San Francisco

During my somewhat hiatus from the blogosphere, Jon and I took a two-week road trip out west. You may remember me talking about it a while back. To say it was a dream is an understatement. You guys. Those photos of VW vans driving up the west coast with surfboards strapped to the top? Yeah. It’s real. We lived it. We loved it.

IMG_5848_7133Being from Tennessee (helloooo landlocked state!), California feels foreeeeverrr away, and honestly like a different world. Haha, I sound so uncultured right now (I promise I lived in India and have a masters in intercultural studies!). But really, Jon and I were incredibly excited for our trip, and I feel it’s only necessary to tell you guys about some of the inspiration I gained from this awesome experience. We ran, we ate, we drove a tiny car up the coast, we stayed in sketchy campgrounds, we drove some more, and we really had such a blast.

Without further ado . . .

My first meal in California was rice and beans. I know…sooo plain. I don’t know if I was starving from traveling all day, or if it was just that good, but I had this meal probably 4 more times on our trip!

IMG_5809_7097When we got back to Tennessee, I hadddd to make my own version. You can find an awesome yet simple recipe below for huevos rancheros I whipped up after being home:)huevosrancheros7Our first stop out west was San Francisco. We lerrrvvvvv this city!! I’m pretty sure we were the epitome of nerdy tourists, but when you only have three days in a new city, live it up, right?!

Some of the bullet points on the to-do-list?

  1. Run at the Golden Gate BridgeIMG_6015_6998

Check.

  1. Find a succulent plant farm (we are huge plant people. Don’t judge).

IMG_6006_6993Check.

  1. Eat at the Ferry Building (ginormous marketplace with lots of great food!)

IMG_5967_6982Check.

As for running, I honestly have never been more humbled than when running in SF. Holy hills. Living in Memphis with zeroooo elevation change throughout the city, I was dying. Actually that’s an understatement.  But, in a good, “I can’t feel the entire lower half of my body the day-after a workout” good.

IMG_6030_6956To say we LOVED San Francisco is an understatement, although we definitely ventured to some other great cities as well while out west. Over the next few weeks, I’m going to share some more photos and recipes inspired by our trip. For now, enjoy these huevos rancheros below, and let me know if you make them!

huevosrancheros8huevosrancheros9huevosrancheros1 huevosrancheros5

Skillet Poached Huevos Rancheros

serves 4

Ingredients:

1 16-ounce jar salsa or “Pico de Gallo”

1 15 ½ -ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained

4 large eggs

kosher salt and pepper, to taste

¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro

8 small flour tortillas

1-2 avocados, sliced into strips

1 bell pepper, sliced into thin strips

½ cup sour cream (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Over low-medium heat, combine beans and salsa in a large skilled. Bring to a simmer. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. While the beans are simmering, begin toasting the tortillas. Heat a small skillet over medium-high heat, and one at a time, place tortillas in skillet, flipping after 1-2 minutes to prevent burning. Set aside.
  3. Make four wells in bean-tomato mixture, and crack eggs into the wells. Cover skillet and cook over medium heat until yolks are runny or firm, according to your preference.
  4. In a large bowl, combine crispy tortillas, sliced avocado and peppers, and tomato-bean-egg mixture. Top with a dollop of sour cream if desired.

Recipe adapted from realsimple.com

2 thoughts on “Running, Food and Life inspiration from our trip out west::San Francisco

Leave a Reply

