Snow Day Survival: Day 2

IMG_2819.JPGBecause we are all getting a little cabin feverish over here . . .

So I actually ended up going into work yesterday, and the photo above is how I felt about it.

This morning I woke up and my gym was closed again! Womp womp…

I knew I needed to get a run in, but the roads are so icy, so I had to get creative. I wanted to share what I did in case you are cooped up, too, and don’t have access to a treadmill.

Here’s the HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) Workout I did. It’s my favorite because a.) no equipment needed and b.) it’s 30 minutes of elevated heart rate. WIN!

IMG_2842.JPGMy other snow day survival tip? Make a HUGE hot smoothie bowl. Oh my. This was so delish.

IMG_2801.JPGHot Berry Protein Smoothie Bowl

makes 1 large or 2 small servings

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1/3-1/2 cup filtered water or coconut water

1-1.5 cups frozen or fresh berry mixture (I used strawberries, blueberries & raspberries)

1/2 tablespoon coconut oil

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, divided

1 scoop protein powder (Vega One Berry flavor worked perfect for this!)

1 tablespoon sweetener of your choice (optional, but I used pure Maple syrup)

1/4 cup goji berries (can substitute cranberries, dried cherries, dried blueberries, etc)

1/4 cup almond slivers

Instructions:

1. Combine water and chia seeds together in small bowl, stir well, and let sit for 5 minutes to thicken.

2. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt coconut oil and add mixed berries, Heat until berries are at a slow simmer. Stir frequently to prevent burning.

3. While berries cook, prepare the smoothie.

4. In high powered blender, combine chia/water mixture, almond milk, coconut flakes, 1/2 of the coconut flakes, and sweetener if you’d like. Blend until smooth.

5. Add hot berries to blender, and pulse a few times.

6. Pour hot smoothie into a bowl, top with remaining coconut flakes, almond slivers, and goji berries.

Stay warm, everyone!

Leave a Reply

